Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: F1 car vs LMP1 car - downforce levels

F1 car vs LMP1 car - downforce levels

I was just wondering how downforce levels compare between an F1 car and an LMP1 car.

I have limited knowledge on LMP1s, but I understand there is emphasis on 'ground affect' and underbody aero. Also I understand that as these cars are tuned to race at LeMans, low downforce is important and will reflect in their aero package. So how close are LMP1s to the downforce levels of F1 cars?

Not got any recent data, nor specific modern F1.
    But as indicator ...
    Lola Champ open wheel - Mulsanne's Corner Race Car Aerodynamics Database: 2003 Lola B03/00 Champ Car
    Downforce:
    3039 lbs. @ 150 mph, with 966 lbs. of drag
    4376 lbs. @ 180 mph, with 1391 lbs. of drag
    5402 lbs. @ 200 mph, with 1718 lbs. drag

Lift-to-drag ratio: 3.14:1
    Panoz LMP1 - Mulsanne's Corner Race Car Aerodynamics Database: 2000 Panoz LMP-1 Roadster S
    Downforce:
    2400 lbs. @ 150 mph, with 716 lbs. of drag
    3456 lbs. @ 180 mph, with 1031 lbs. of drag
    4266 lbs. @ 200 mph, with 1273 lbs. of drag

Lift-to-drag ratio: 3.35:1
    "A woman without curves is like a road without bends, you might get to your destination quicker but the ride is boring as hell'

LMPs will tend to be a lot more efficient at making lots of downforce, simply because they are closed wheel, and have a much larger area to work with. Though modern LMP's scope of development might be even narrower than F1 car with now a largely spec floor, at the same time with current F1's double diffuser.
    University of Toronto Formula SAE Alumni 2003-2007
    Formula Student Championship 2003, 2005, 2006
    www.fsae.utoronto.ca

With less power the LMPs can't add too much drag to get downforce.
    The eternal issue when comparing drag and downforce between formulas
    "A woman without curves is like a road without bends, you might get to your destination quicker but the ride is boring as hell'