PDA

View Full Version : Enquiries about buying cars in aust!

s4m
05-02-2005, 10:14 PM
Hello guys. i'm gonna get a car in aust and its my first time. Currently i'm thinking about a second hand supra or skyline r34. Is it common to buy these cars over websites on the internet? i mean, r they reliable? Also, would importing a car frm japan be very expensive? and how can i check the insurance amt to be paind for these cars?

s4m
05-02-2005, 11:19 PM
sorry. paid not paind.
anyway other cars i'm considering is mitsu evo viii (high fuel consumption) and 350z (tire alignment problems?). is the wrx sti also consume alot of fuel?
can someone give me some advise?

fpv_gtho
05-02-2005, 11:43 PM
You might find a better deal importing from New Zealand rather than Japan, theyve got tonloads of Jap imports there. Its probably safer buying in person though, especially if its imported as you'd get a much better impression about any faults of the car, any modifications, the overall quality of the car etc and you can see for yourself on the compliance plates if its legal to be on the road

2ndclasscitizen
05-03-2005, 04:22 AM
The STi would be the same as the EVO. And there are plenty of solutions on the net for the tire issues on the 350Z. I'd go with fpv with getting the car from NZ, they don't have anything like the strict ADRs we got here, and check http://www.uniquecars.com.au/. Check around the aussie forums about what happened to Blue Supra when he tried to get a car imported as a lesson in vigilence. what type of car are you most interested and what's your price range, someone here might stumble across something.

And by the way, welcome and enjoy UCP forums!

pimento
05-03-2005, 05:44 AM