PDA

View Full Version : Tamiya 1/24 Citroen 2CV

henk4
02-28-2004, 08:44 AM
As promised for Crisis the Tamiya Citroen 2CV, straight from the box (this car does not need any improvement as we all know).

Niko_Fx
02-28-2004, 01:08 PM
Are these cars too hard to built? I mean I have never done one before but I have seen some in this forum in the last couple of days and I kind of want to do one. Does it require experience? How much time? What's the price of one of these?

By the way all I have seen here posted look great :)

Matra et Alpine
02-28-2004, 02:13 PM
Are these cars too hard to built? I mean I have never done one before but I have seen some in this forum in the last couple of days and I kind of want to do one. Does it require experience? How much time? What's the price of one of these?

By the way all I have seen here posted look great :)
For your first car, buy a quality kit.
Tamiya are excellent value for money.
Protar and others (Studio 27) add extra detail and are worth it but take a bit more skill.
And cost :)

Learn on a Tamiya - they're not too expensive - and produce an excellent finished model.
1/12 is large scale, but also will take many hours to complete a decent kit - you need to do lots of detail paint mark-up when the model is big.
I'd recommend going for a 1/20 or 1/24 scale as a good compromise.
1/43 is another skill I've yet to complete and is VERY difficult when trying to get final details.

Build your first one exactly as the instructions recommend.

Later on, you can start modifying, adding and builindg out of order to ensure extra detail and accuracy in reasonable time.

There are lots of on-line modelling sites and newsgroups.
Search on model kit and you'll do well - just not with the wife in the room because you just KNOW the other stuff that search will find.

Your local model shop can be very helpful, most owners are more than willing to offer advice on the best modelto start with iin their stock.