PDA

View Full Version : Should I?

2gdsm
09-27-2004, 10:40 AM
Wuz up yall
Im new to this page and i just wana say im really impressed by you guys knowlege for cars. Any way I just bought a 1996 Eclipse GS about 5 months ago 2 months ago I swp a 1998 GSX motor and tranny into it. I wanted to know would it be smart to upgrade the turbo and intercooler? Alot of people tell me not to but i want more power. please everybody feel free to school me in the art of tuning and give your opinions

The soul is in the motor not the man- 2gdsm-04 :confused:

Slicks
09-27-2004, 11:54 AM
Wuz up yall
Im new to this page and i just wana say im really impressed by you guys knowlege for cars. Any way I just bought a 1996 Eclipse GS about 5 months ago 2 months ago I swp a 1998 GSX motor and tranny into it. I wanted to know would it be smart to upgrade the turbo and intercooler? Alot of people tell me not to but i want more power. please everybody feel free to school me in the art of tuning and give your opinions

The soul is in the motor not the man- 2gdsm-04 :confused:
You didnt get the AWD setup with the engine and tranny did you? If not your car is going to torque steer pretty hard, but its up to you. Also traction is going to be an issue as well. My friend has a 96 eclipse turbo (non AWD) and a few mods, it torque steers pretty bad, and it sucks in winter driving. He also has traction issues being FWD. Personally if its FWD i would bother with it, but thats just me.

PerfAdv
09-27-2004, 03:00 PM
I agree with the above reply. Too much power in a FWD turbo you're looking at traction and torque steer issues. You might not be able to make a 400+ Hp machine but It can still be a fast car. Winter weather shouldn't be a problem in RichardsonTX though.

Matra et Alpine
09-27-2004, 04:39 PM
Don't know if any kits will be available for the Eclipse, if not it might be possible to make your own up.