Thread: Need advice: which first car?

Need advice: which first car?

First of all, sorry if this is the wrong forum to ask. Anyone know a more suitable forum for first time car buyers?

Anyway, I live in the UK and I'm about to buy my first car and I know very little about cars (total newbie) so I would appreciate any advice at all. I want to know what you all think are important features when buying a car? What should I know about? I know nothing!

I'm looking to spend very little — less than £1,500 — and I would like the following features (in order):

1. Very low insurance.
    2. Feels good to drive (I've driven about 6 different cars and by far the best "feeling" car was a new Vauxhall Corsa)
    3. Hatchback, so I can carry bigger things around in the back (like the keyboard I play).
    4. Safe construction in case of accidents.
    5. Ideally, good miles to the litre, as I make a lot of long distance trips.
    6. I prefer small cars.
    7. But... I have long legs!

I don't really care what the car looks like since it's my first car and I'm told I'll have a few scratches in my first year. But my personally preference is curvy cars, like Ford's 2-seater Streetka. The Streetka and the Audi TT are the only two cars I like the look of (excluding sportscars). When I've been driving for a while I definitely want to get a Streetka as a second car — which is why I'd like this first car to have really cheap insurance.

Any advice at all (from anywhere in the world) would be really appreciated. I want to get my car bought soon! Thanks!

You've come to the right place A Streetka's probably waay outta your budget right now, but just a normal Ka would be easily affordable I expect. Ka's are very good, very sharp handlers, Economical, small, funky design...