Page 1 of 45 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 672

Thread: The PC Discussion Thread

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Bay Area, California, U.S., North America, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way,
    Posts
    3,125

    The PC Discussion Thread

    Since our old GTR thread, where we used to talk about computer-related stuffs, is closed, let's continue all that software/hardware talk here. You can even talk about "downloading" stuffs if you wanna. Just put all the computer things in this thread so we don't have to hijack those game threads.
    The Ace of All Aces.

    Crysis. Maximum Game.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    England, london
    Posts
    3,348
    Yay! I've been waiting for a thread like this seeing that my comuter is always messed up I have a problem, when i use firefox i can't download swot, pictures to videos! when i try it says firefox has encounted a problem and needs to close down. Any help would help, and i have tried deleting fiirefox and downloading it from there site using IE but it still happens
    Cheers...
    .................................................................................:¦Back Again¦:.................................................................................

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Eindhoven, The Netherlands
    Posts
    7,827
    allright here goes a very detailed question:

    How do i get my dslmodem working under Knoppix ? I have a ericsson hm121dp modem.
    when i get my modem/connection to work, ill delete windows from my computer

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Ayr, Scotland
    Posts
    2,858
    Quote Originally Posted by man 430gt
    Yay! I've been waiting for a thread like this seeing that my comuter is always messed up I have a problem, when i use firefox i can't download swot, pictures to videos! when i try it says firefox has encounted a problem and needs to close down. Any help would help, and i have tried deleting fiirefox and downloading it from there site using IE but it still happens
    Cheers...
    Clear your Cache, temp. internet files, and cookies. Means youl have to login into every site that you have an account at, but it gets rid of the problems. Is it just happeing with FF/IE? Maybe worth downloading Opera or another program.

    Drakkie, cant find anything on it atm but il keep looking for sure.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    nr Edinburgh, Whisky-soaked Scotland
    Posts
    27,777
    Quote Originally Posted by drakkie
    allright here goes a very detailed question:

    How do i get my dslmodem working under Knoppix ? I have a ericsson hm121dp modem.
    when i get my modem/connection to work, ill delete windows from my computer
    Get us the plog output. It will be MUCH easier to see where it's going wrong.
    and an ifconfig output just to make sure

    In "theory" a 'pon dsl-provider' should be enough.
    Let's see your console logs for it and we can see if the device handler, communications or authentication is the problem.
    ( Don't know the modem named, any chance you've enabled a security feature in the dsl modem ? Linksys have this and it's a buggar if someone screws it up )
    "A woman without curves is like a road without bends, you might get to your destination quicker but the ride is boring as hell'

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    6,369
    I have been thinking long and hard on which video card to get and after looking at lots of reiview I decided I will get an ATI Radeon X1600XT
    Specifications
    Model
    Brand SAPPHIRE
    Model 100146-BL
    Chipset
    GPU Radeon X1600XT
    Core clock 590MHz
    PixelPipelines 12
    Memory
    Memory Clock 1380MHz
    Memory Size 256MB
    Memory Interface 128-bit
    Memory Type GDDR3
    3D API
    DirectX DirectX 9
    OpenGL OpenGL 2.0
    Interface
    Interface PCI Express x16
    Ports
    D-SUB 1
    DVI 1
    TV-Out HDTV/S-Video/Composite Out
    VIVO No
    General
    Tuner None
    RAMDAC 400 MHz
    Max Resolution 2560x1600
    Cooler Heatsink and Fan
    Operating Systems Supported Windows 2000/XP
    Features
    CrossFire Support
    TruForm 2.0
    Smoothvision HD + Adaptive AA
    Avivo™ Technology
    Hyper Z HD, Video Shader HD
    Package Contents
    HDTV Cable
    S-Video Cable
    Composite Cable
    DVI CRT Adapter
    S-AV Adapter
    Driver CD

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    6,369
    How does an ATI Radeon X850XT sound? I want something I can use for GTR2

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Southeast US
    Posts
    5,583
    From what I read ATI's have more trouble running GTR than Nvidia's.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Idaho
    Posts
    6,369
    I think I'll be fine with the X850XT

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    1,200
    ATi Radeon X1900XTX is the best card on the market and it is certainly not at it's max (so you can feel safe in the knowledge that it will be the best for alittle while)

    Hey I was wondering who likes the Intel P4 Extreme that supports HT over AMD processors. I like it for the 1066MHz FSB

    and what is the best hard drives out there. I was thinking seagate's NL35 series is pretty good with 400GB

    also lets talk OSes

    I am really looking forward to RHEL5
    (Red Hat Enterprise Linux 5) because of it's superior virtuality modes.
    Power, whether measured as HP, PS, or KW is what accelerates cars and gets it up to top speed. Power also determines how far you take a wall when you hit it
    Engine torque is an illusion.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Ayr, Scotland
    Posts
    2,858
    Agree with Dino, i would NEVER buy another ATI after owning an nVida card. It is far more superior, even soending £50 extra on the nVidia card, made me run GTR full quality, my 128mb ati had to rune vertything low !

    Hard drives?
    I find it always best to keep a smaller hard drive (say 40-60gb) to keep your OS on, i wouldnt advise formatting a 300gb hard drive to install a fresh copy of XP, would take a while. At the moment, i have 1x30gb drrive (OS + smaller programs) 1x300gb Seagte (games, bigger apps, tv shows, music, and all the rest) 1x40gb external (when i didnt have the 300) and a small 512mb stick. So in total, about 370.5gb. About 30% of that is already used within 3 months of reformatting!

    Im running XP with Media Center Edition, getting so many bloody errors with AOL/IE (i know, AOL is crap ), if i get one, il screenshot it.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Eindhoven, The Netherlands
    Posts
    7,827
    Quote Originally Posted by Matra et Alpine
    Get us the plog output. It will be MUCH easier to see where it's going wrong.
    and an ifconfig output just to make sure

    In "theory" a 'pon dsl-provider' should be enough.
    Let's see your console logs for it and we can see if the device handler, communications or authentication is the problem.
    ( Don't know the modem named, any chance you've enabled a security feature in the dsl modem ? Linksys have this and it's a buggar if someone screws it up )
    what the hell are you talking about ???

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    nr Edinburgh, Whisky-soaked Scotland
    Posts
    27,777
    Quote Originally Posted by drakkie
    what the hell are you talking about ???
    sorry. *nix-speak.
    If you aren't comfortable with it, then my advice is not to use a linux derivative
    Are you still having trouble ?
    I dont' think I can do a unix console command course over the internet
    "A woman without curves is like a road without bends, you might get to your destination quicker but the ride is boring as hell'

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,734
    Quote Originally Posted by Matra et Alpine
    sorry. *nix-speak.
    If you aren't comfortable with it, then my advice is not to use a linux derivative
    Are you still having trouble ?
    I dont' think I can do a unix console command course over the internet
    Thoguht you were on about nixies then!
    How can men use sex to get what they want?
    Sex is what they want. - Frasier

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Tampere
    Posts
    817
    Quote Originally Posted by Matra et Alpine
    If you aren't comfortable with it, then my advice is not to use a linux derivative
    Maybe there is no ready linux module for that certain modem. In that case you would indeed have to choose between using Windows only or getting a new modem.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. The random picture thread
    By Mustang in forum Multimedia
    Replies: 489
    Last Post: 05-16-2014, 02:19 PM
  2. The Official "Creation by Drawing" Thread
    By NuclearCrap in forum Multimedia
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 04-09-2006, 08:56 AM
  3. how funny was the "attention ferrari haters" thread
    By jump15vc in forum General Automotive
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-05-2006, 10:41 PM
  4. Writing thread?
    By CdocZ in forum Miscellaneous
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-20-2005, 07:12 AM
  5. About the enzo thread
    By werty in forum Website discussion
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 09-19-2004, 04:03 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •