Thread: Question regarding 1:18 vs 1:24 diecast models

Question regarding 1:18 vs 1:24 diecast models

First of all, hello to everyone here. I am lucky to have stumbled on this website while searching for diecast models. I am new to the hobby and would like some advice. I would like to have a small collection of about a dozen cars. I won't get into specific models but in general porsche, ferrari, lamborghini, etc. I noticed there is quite a price range between 1:18 and 1:24. I was wondering if people thought the difference is size was worth the price difference. Also, are cars in general more harder to find in 1:24 than 1:18? I can't find an red mazda rx8 in 1:24 anywhere. I also was curious about the quality of maisto models which are cheaper than than the autoart (which I'm presuming is good quality). Thanks.

There is a fairly noticeable difference in quality over cheaper ones like Maisto, I find Maisto has more of a toy-like feel to them, whereas if you really want a decent collection, you're better off paying more. Also I'd recommend going for 1:18 scale models, as I find there is the most selection at that size, and they generally have more detail and look better on your shelf.

So overall I'd say you're better off buying a higher quality model, and maybe having less cars than having a lot of the cheaper ones.
    i was waiting on a moment, but the moment never came. all the billion other moments, were just slipping all away. i must have been tripping, we're just slipping all away. just ego tripping.

Hey!