Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Computer Help!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    2,057

    Computer Help!

    ok guys so i got a HP 751n. came with pretty much everything i needed. its acouple years old but it works. i hooked it all up and when i turn it on i get a really long beeeeeep then it stops and another beeeeep. what do u think can be the problem? btw no monitor response either. HELPP!! thanks
    Gone:
    09 Ducati Monster 696
    09 Audi Q5 3.2
    03 Infiniti G35 Sedan
    07 Honda Civic Coupe LX 5spd

    Current:
    10 BMW 335d
    12 Audi Q5 2.0t
    10 VW Jetta TDI
    11 Ducati Monster 796

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    NEW YORK
    Posts
    6,985
    I think the problem is that it's a HP.

    I think 2 beeps is a parity failure but I cant remember. Our old HP did that too.

    Did you install memory in it or something?
    John says:
    so i had to dump acid into the block tank today
    i'm afraid to fap
    cause i got it on my hands

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Ancaster, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    81
    yea thats a crash, when u install ram that happens, if its done incorrectly
    Enzo Ferrari Quotes: "Aerodynamics are for people who can't build engines!"

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    nr Edinburgh, Whisky-soaked Scotland
    Posts
    27,777
    POST ( Power On Self Test ) beeps are the norm in the industry.

    Something's bust

    More than likely it's the last thing you did, so as B says memory ??

    THe beeps arent' random and are telling you exactly what it is finding wrong. THere isnt' a "standard" for this. I'm sure the HP was a Phoenix BIOS so see http://www.pcguide.com/ts/x/sys/beep/phoenix/index.htm ( if it turns out not to be then search that site for the BIOS it is )

    Good luck, hopefuly it's only needin a board reseated
    "A woman without curves is like a road without bends, you might get to your destination quicker but the ride is boring as hell'

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    2,057
    it might be the memory. but i put two different kinds of RAM in and still no luck. i don't get into the bios nor do i get any monitor feedback.
    Gone:
    09 Ducati Monster 696
    09 Audi Q5 3.2
    03 Infiniti G35 Sedan
    07 Honda Civic Coupe LX 5spd

    Current:
    10 BMW 335d
    12 Audi Q5 2.0t
    10 VW Jetta TDI
    11 Ducati Monster 796

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    nr Edinburgh, Whisky-soaked Scotland
    Posts
    27,777
    IS the POST help on the link provided not telling you which fault ?
    If not, then it's possible that your CPU is dead or a power rail.
    Again .. . what did you touch last ? Has the computer been moved/cleaned/dropped(!) ???
    "A woman without curves is like a road without bends, you might get to your destination quicker but the ride is boring as hell'

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    2,057
    i may have gotten some thermal paste stuff on the processor pins and i did clean the old thermal paste off and it did drip off but i tried to clean it up and took my time before i put it back it.
    Gone:
    09 Ducati Monster 696
    09 Audi Q5 3.2
    03 Infiniti G35 Sedan
    07 Honda Civic Coupe LX 5spd

    Current:
    10 BMW 335d
    12 Audi Q5 2.0t
    10 VW Jetta TDI
    11 Ducati Monster 796

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Perth, Australia
    Posts
    6,535
    Memory is generally constant beeping, if it's only a couple of beeps then it stops it's likely to be something else. It could be the video card, the beeps for them are generally a long one and two short ones. Possibly also heat related, but it looks like you've already tested that.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    nr Edinburgh, Whisky-soaked Scotland
    Posts
    27,777
    Quote Originally Posted by coolieman1220
    i may have gotten some thermal paste stuff on the processor pins and i did clean the old thermal paste off and it did drip off but i tried to clean it up and took my time before i put it back it.
    oh dear
    Where else might that paste have ended up ?
    Was it definaltey clear before putting it in the socket ?
    Some sockets you coudl ahve ended up forcing paste down inside and it will have spread and shorted pins. You're kinda screwed if that has happened as you'd need some carbon-tet or similar industrial agent to clean it out.
    Check it all over again.
    Hmmm .... what and how did you clean the pins on the CPU ? Did you have a ground connection ?: Did you use anti-static materials ??


    EDIT: hmmm, you did remember to clear the CMOS ??????
    Last edited by Matra et Alpine; 02-05-2007 at 05:31 PM.
    "A woman without curves is like a road without bends, you might get to your destination quicker but the ride is boring as hell'

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    2,057
    well i can't find the cmos and i dun get what that would do. the pins didn't have much on it and i checked it multiple times. i think its the RAM but i used various types in various positions. everytime i try it i hear that beep and i wanna smash the whole thing to pieces!
    Gone:
    09 Ducati Monster 696
    09 Audi Q5 3.2
    03 Infiniti G35 Sedan
    07 Honda Civic Coupe LX 5spd

    Current:
    10 BMW 335d
    12 Audi Q5 2.0t
    10 VW Jetta TDI
    11 Ducati Monster 796

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    In the shed
    Posts
    9,941
    the CMOS battery is a small shiny round thing about and inch across, you may need a flat head screwdriver to pry it out. Unplug the power before doing this though, otherwise you hurt yourself. take the battery out and leave it for a few mins and put it back in, this will reset the BIOS.
    The Datto will rage again...

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Aberdeen
    Posts
    2,975
    i assume the working ram is in the first socket from the processor...
    autozine.org

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    nr Edinburgh, Whisky-soaked Scotland
    Posts
    27,777
    Don't go touching batteries -- some of them are soldered !!!

    The motherboard has a jumper to reset the CMOS.; You move it over, switch on for 10 seconds. Switch off and return jumper to "normal" location and turn back on - CMOS is reset.

    Mobo manual will describe where the CMOS reset is -- if you dont' have it then google is your friend, the jumper location will be out there
    "A woman without curves is like a road without bends, you might get to your destination quicker but the ride is boring as hell'

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Aberdeen
    Posts
    2,975
    Quote Originally Posted by Matra et Alpine
    Don't go touching batteries -- some of them are soldered !!!
    what if it runs out? i havent come across soldered batteries but thats mobo specific
    autozine.org

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. World's best computer hacker
    By NuclearCrap in forum Gaming
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 10-09-2006, 01:51 PM
  2. Computer turning itself on?
    By TVR IS KING in forum Miscellaneous
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 10-01-2006, 11:28 PM
  3. CVT's and Computer Controlled Valvetrain Idea
    By deffenbaugh03 in forum Technical forums
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 07-01-2005, 03:32 PM
  4. Computer hacker arrested.
    By Quiggs in forum Miscellaneous
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 06-09-2005, 07:48 AM
  5. Good computer sites?
    By CdocZ in forum Miscellaneous
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 05-06-2005, 11:56 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •