Thread: High purity aluminium

High purity aluminium

I working on a school project and need to get in touch with companies which are refining aluminium to high purity. I've got some questions I'd like them to anwers for me, but I don't seem to find anyone on google. Do you work at such a place, know someone who does or just happen to know about such a company, please let me know.

The method they are using is probably at three-layer electrolytic method and I'm interested in the Al-Cu alloy they are using.

Help appreciated!

I'm no expert on the subject, but I managed to find the following two links:

Elkem
    Borgestad Fabrikker

Not sure if those sites are helpful, but give it a look-see.
    Last edited by Kooper; 06-12-2008 at 07:49 AM.

Borgestad Fabrikker is a supplier of refractories and such and I already have Elkem on my radar. Thanks anyway

Don't you think Hydro can help answer questions, or direct you to someone who knows?
    The are big in alu you know..

...but not in electrolytical refining of high-purity alu

I suggest you walk into a company that uses this material for their products or something and ask around. 9/10 times they are willing to help a student. Thats what I noticed anyhow when searching for companies not too long ago. I needed mostly steel and was helped excellently by the people at ArcellorMittal, in Rotterdam. Give it a shot, im not sre if they serve aluminium as well but they might be of help. Another advice i can give you is to just make a standardized format for emails or letters and spam the shit out of all companies supplying both steel and/or aluminium. Usually they can give you some advice.. I sent about 250 emails and got 45 back of which 21 were usefull and contained good information and/or interest.

Quote Originally Posted by drakkie View Post
    I suggest you walk into a company that uses this material for their products or something and ask around.