Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Mercedes 300 SLR (replica ?) Nürburgring

Mercedes 300 SLR (replica ?) Nürburgring

A very surprising spot during the Touristfahrt last week :
    Mercedes 300 SLR (replica ?)

Nordschleife 30.08.09

Shouldn't it be 722? Also, the windscreen looks funny.
    www.flickr.com/photos/maestro_ng

722 was the car S. Moss drove starting at 07:22

As this is 723, an educated guess would be that is (or a replica of) a car that started at 07:23. As I am not a Merc expert one of them will need to chime in as to if this was from the same year, or a different year.
    Chief of Secret Police and CFO - Brotherhood of Jelly
    No Mr. Craig, I expect you to die! On the inside. Of heartbreak. You emo bitch

722 has seen its last public outing a couple of years ago, It has been put to rest in the Benz Museum after a very active "post-racing" career.
    This must be a replica, or a sister car, Mercedes owns all of the ones produced, bare one which is in the Schlumpf museum. But when Mercedes brings out another one for a public event it is mostly 696, the Fangio car from the Mille Miglia.
    "I find the whole business of religion profoundly interesting, but it does mystify me that otherwise intelligent people take it seriously." Douglas Adams

723 in 1955 Mille Miglia was Eugenio Castellotti in Ferrari. Wasn't Fangio's car 658, by the way?

Quote Originally Posted by faksta View Post
    723 in 1955 Mille Miglia was Eugenio Castellotti in Ferrari. Wasn't Fangio's car 658, by the way?
    correct, I was quoting by head...
    "I find the whole business of religion profoundly interesting, but it does mystify me that otherwise intelligent people take it seriously." Douglas Adams

Germany -> West Germany -> NRW -> Düsseldorf
    This one is a replica, car is well known around the Ring, because the owner tried hard to get it on the track. Don't exactly know what was the problem, might have been to loud or something like that.