Thread: Questions about modern fuel injection

Questions about modern fuel injection

I've been wondering this for quite a while, given that modern DFI systems for gasoline engines were developed along the lines of diesel engine principals.

First of all, unless I've missed something, why haven't gasoline engines used piezo injectors like diesel engines? And is there such a thing as a common rail gasoline DFI system? What are the possible hurdles to using such technology on gasoline engines?
    Power to me is having the ability to make a change in a positive way. Don't dream it, be it.

I am no automotive engineer, but maybe it has something to do with the combustion qualities of gasoline vs. diesel? Diesel fuel tends not to burn as readily and you need high compression with no spark plug.

Quote Originally Posted by Chernaudi View Post
    I've been wondering this for quite a while, given that modern DFI systems for gasoline engines were developed along the lines of diesel engine principals.

First of all, unless I've missed something, why haven't gasoline engines used piezo injectors like diesel engines? And is there such a thing as a common rail gasoline DFI system? What are the possible hurdles to using such technology on gasoline engines?
    Most GM direct injection gas vehicles are common rail! My 2012 & 2013 Buick Lacrosses are common rail! The piezo injector question is basically what NSX said! The compression of a Diesel engine is to high for a standard injector! But the standard injector is much cheaper to make than a piezo injector, yet the standard injector is more than capable to handle the compression of a modern gas engine!