Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: An idea for an engine

An idea for an engine

Howsabout this. I'm no engineer or anything. But this is what I came up with.

Ok homes, here's the deal. You have a car. It has an electric engine. The car starts, get's to 30 mph and suddenly the wind starts to push against the car. But that's a good thing. Located in the middle of the car is a large duct, that rolls through to the front of the back ice. In the duct, there's 6 propellors, and when they move (they're made out of Carbon F), they propel the lightweight rear wheels forward. The car now moves on the power of air, using fan technology and using the force of air pushing into the car.

This is a rough deal, but maybe you can tell me if this would work.

If it did, the car would never pollute, and would never use fuel. Sounds good to me.
    The ability for outward expression is dependent on substance...

I am not an engineer my self but i think there are some problems with the design:
    - the wind will not always be the same. one day the car might move fast another day it might not move as fast it might not even move.
    - i think the large duct will create ALOT of drag thus slowing the car down.
    just some problems i see. i might be wrong though....
    You type without knowledge, you are 'a keyboard warrior - lots of mouth, little brain....

You'd pretty much have to get the car's Cd down to 0 for it to work, and it would have to be super lightweight. Interesting idea though.

It wouldnt work, all of the drag produced by the duct and the fan would cancel out any power that reached the rear wheels.

[QUOTE=Clique]I am not an engineer my self but i think there are some problems with the design:
    - the wind will not always be the same. one day the car might move fast QUOTE]

But the car moving forward at a certain amount of speed creates wind.