Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Expensive Lenses

Expensive Lenses

Hey guys,

Ive been doing film photography for a few years but have recently (1 week ago lol) switched to digital permanently. When I bought my new equipment I couldnt help but notice that the same sized lenses can have a price difference of up to $3000. Over the years that I have been doing photography I strangely enough never came accross a difference that big. So I was wondering, why do you pay 3k more for a lens that has the same focal length etc?

I know that some lenses have a better quality glass and stuff like stabilizers but what makes the big difference?

Cheers guys
    Last edited by superwaxer; 07-24-2008 at 02:34 AM. Reason: Spelling Error

Quality is the keyword here. Both construction quality and optical quality is far superior on more expensive lenses.
    If you should see a man walking down a crowded street talking aloud to himself, don't run in the opposite direction, but run towards him, because he's a poet. You have nothing to fear from the poet - but the truth.

(Ted Joans)

Like Wouter said, it is the construction and optical quality.
    Those expensive lenses have larger apertures, requiring more glass and materials to be used.
    Stabilizers can be found even in the cheapest kit lenses.
    BTW, what camera gear do you have?
    Thanks

I bought a Canon 400D. I've always been kind of a Canon fan so the 400D was the obvious choice. I also have a 15 - 55mm, 35 - 80mm and a 85 - 300mm lens.

Do you get more light into the expensive lenses?

Quote Originally Posted by superwaxer View Post
    I bought a Canon 400D. I've always been kind of a Canon fan so the 400D was the obvious choice. I also have a 15 - 55mm, 35 - 80mm and a 85 - 300mm lens.

Do you get more light into the expensive lenses?
    You can get more light into a really cheap large aperture lens too. the cost of a lens is directly related to two things: