Thread: Is there a difference between European and American diesel?

Is there a difference between European and American diesel?

Sorry if this seems like a n00b question, but I am still learning about cars and don't know everything. That's why forums are so great: for asking questions . Anyway, I wanted to know, is there a difference in the grade or type of diesel that they use in Europe and America? I've been looking around at the fantastic diesels that you guys in Europe have, and I'd love to have that kind of economy over here. I know, I can get a VW, but they cost a wee much for me right now (and there gas mileage is only slightly better). I've had my eye on two diesels as of late: the Citroën C2 1.4HDi (it gets better gas mileage than a Prius!) and the MINI One D (I love the MINI, and this one gets insane gas mileage on top of its looks!). Any help would be appreciated. I'm thinking that if I can use American diesel in a European diesel engine, I'd seriously consider importing one of those two cars. Thanks again.

P.S. One more little question would be: can I find either of those two cars in LHD or do they only make them for RHD countries? I think I can legally drive a RHD car here, but I think I'd get a wee confused .
    No-so-proud owner of a 1986 Mustang LX with the 2.3L four. Anyone wanna buy it? $500. I'll post some pics and info in the user's rides section soon.

I don't need anything too fancy, just something that can get me to the sun and back in 5 seconds flat.

I wanna see a comparison test between the Saleen SR, Lamborghini Gallardo, Ford GT, and Ferrari Challange Stradale. Anyone wanna help me with that? I already know who'd win, though ;).

From what I have heard on the tele, European diesel is cleaner. SO when you burn it it does not stink or look as bad.
    UPC's most heavy Bawls drinker. :D

Quote Originally Posted by PsychoChimp22