Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: I'm no expert but...Vanquish compared to Vanquish S

I'm no expert but...Vanquish compared to Vanquish S

Yes, I am not an expert as I am new to this world of exotics but today I got the chance to spend some time driving a Vanquish S instead of the Vanquish without the sports dynamic package that I had driven before. I thought I would give you my observations of the differences, please remembering that I am a novice at this.

First, I thought the Vanquish was crazy and it is. The Vanquish S is sick. I know people kind of look at the Vanquish S as just an upgrade to the Vanquish but I see it as a different car.

Its feel is stiffer and the responsiveness to steering is greatly improved. In addition at higher speeds you definitely notice the increased braking power. These attributes, along with the increased power, give you a different experience in the car.

Today I went for a drive in the hills of Northern California, very long and winding roads, miles and miles. Almost like a course with very few cars. Dropping her into third gear and accelerating through the winding turns was unbelievable.

While first and second is slightly faster, the power in third gear is tremendously improved. You accelerate building up the RPM's and then when you shift to fourth gear, it is seamless and the car takes off like a bullet.

I was driving on these roads and we came to new Corvette with a license plate that read "BAAAAAD" that was holding me up. Couldn't pass him on the winding roads but we soon got to a straight away. I dropped her down to third, gave it some gas and the Corvette started to accelerate thinking he wanted a race. By the time I shifted into fourth gear and got to look behind I was up to 110 mph (nah...not me, that must be a typo, I would never speed) and the Corvette was no where to be seen. He obviously gave up and that was the smart thing to do. Maybe he was going to consider getting another license plate?