Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Becoming a motoring journalist..

Becoming a motoring journalist..

As some of you might know, I am a student in Automotive Engineering. For this study I have to follow a internship. After some personal and economic issues preventing me from entering one, I finally found one.

Last week I started a 5 month internship at one of the Netherlands' biggest automotive magazines; Autokampioen. The magazine is one of the many published by the ANWB, the Dutch Automobile Club. I guess you can compare it to the ADAC or the RAC.
    The two-weekly magazine features articles on various subjects related to cars and driving. Most of them are news items, reviews and test drives of cars ranging from the latest el-cheapo to the latest Ferrari's. The focus is on consumer cars though.

What I plan to learn here is the skill to test cars properly. It sounds dead easy but the incredible amount of knowledge, skill and time it takes is often underestimated, I was amazed anyway. I will be working directly with some journalists of whom I have read articles since I was a very small boy, making the experience even more interesting for me.

I allready learned a lot off writing skills and got a good overview of (almost) every phase of producing a magazine. A few articles of me will be published in the next issue. Multiple items are allready on their website. One example (in Dutch) here:

ANWB - Auto - Opvolger Nissan Micra in 2010 op de markt
    The article features the first news on the new Nissan Micra/March, to be expected soon, under a different name.

In the near future I hope to keep this thread updated and post some more articles, pictures and so on. Very soon we will feature some nice hot-hatches, which we are testing now.

More coming soon!

It's 'minder dan' ...